EAST HORSLEY PARISH COUNCIL

Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer: Mr Nicholas Clemens

East Horsley Parish Council Office, Kingston Avenue, EAST HORSLEY, Leatherhead KT24 6QT

www.easthorsley.info Telephone 01483 281148 e-mail parishcouncil@easthorsleypc.org

Minutes of the Meeting of the Annual Statutory Council held in the Clubroom of East Horsley Village Hall, on Monday 19 May 2025 at 7.30pm.

Present:

Councillors: Robert Taylor (Chair), Aileen Aitcheson, Colin Carmichael, Andrew Franklin, Holly Haling, Chris Hampson, Steve Harvey, Sylvia Igglesden, Anna Mitchell, Juliet Robinson

Also Present:

Nick Clemens (Clerk), Hilary Gullen (observing)

1. Apologies:

There were no apologies for absence.

2. To Suspend Standing Order 6F

The council agreed, by unanimous vote, to suspend Standing Order 6F to enable the current chair to stand for one more year, subject to agenda item 3.

3. To Elect the Chair of the Parish Council

By unanimous vote, Councillor Robert Taylor was elected Chair for the year 2025-2026 and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Chair.

4. To Elect the Vice-Chair of the Parish Council

By unanimous vote, Councillor Aileen Aitcheson was elected Vice-Chair for the year 2025-2026 and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as vice-chair.

5. Declaration of Disclosable Pecuniary Interest by Councillors on any of the agenda items below in accordance with the Relevant Authorities.

There were no Declarations of Pecuniary Interest.

6. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting were agreed and the Chair was authorised to sign them as a true and accurate record.

7/8. Terms of Reference for 2025-2026 for Parish Council Committees, Task Groups and Representatives on External Working Parties

Planning and Environment Committee

Membership was agreed as: Robert Taylor (Chair), Colin Carmichael, Chris Hampson, Sylvia Igglesden, Anna Mitchell with Andrew Franklin and Aileen Aitcheson as reserve members.

The Chair noted that the Planning and Environment Committee would be quorate with two members (if in agreement on the applications presented), but that this would require further discussion due to concerns raised about how this would work in practice.

Further consideration was also required on how members of the committee could confirm attendance.

Finance and Risk Management Committee

Membership was agreed as: Aileen Aitcheson (Chair), Colin Carmichael, Chris Hampson, Steve Harvey and Robert Taylor. Hilary Gullen to clerk.

Personnel Committee

Membership was agreed as: Aileen Aitcheson, Colin Carmichael, Andrew Franklin and Robert Taylor.

Village Appearance

Membership was agreed as: Aileen Aitcheson (Chair), Steve Harvey, Juliet Robinson, and Penny Panman as a non-councillor member. Hilary Gullen to clerk.

Communications and Community Events Task Group

Membership was agreed as: Steve Harvey (Chair), Colin Carmichael, Andrew Franklin, Holly Haling, and Nikki Worsfold (non-councillor member). Kevin Jenkins to clerk.

Road Safety Task Group

Membership was agreed as: Andrew Franklin (Chair), Aileen Aitcheson, Juliet Robinson, Robert Taylor and Martin Stringfellow as a non-councillor member.

Countryside Task Group

Membership was agreed as: Anna Mitchell, Juliet Robinson, Robert Taylor and non-councillor members Brian Austin, Harry Eve, Sally Ollet, Shaw Stapley. Kevin Jenkins to clerk.

Railway Task Group

Membership was agreed as: Andrew Franklin and non-councillor member Stephen Groom/Alan Gilbertson. Kevin Jenkins to clerk.

It was noted that further discussion would take place on the structure of this Task Group.

Climate Change

It was noted that this was now a Community Interest Group and that Sylvia Igglesden would be the council's representative for this.

Holly Haling and Chris Hampson would liaise with the Youth Council regarding youth representation and Terms of Reference for this group.

Horsley Heritage

Membership was agreed as: Co-chairs: Robert Taylor (EHPC) & Paul Dodgson (WHPC).

Team members: Robert Barnard, Mel Beynon, Clare Clinton, June Davey, Graham Davey, Steve Harvey, Stephen Groom, James Harper, Peter Mazalon, Sally Ollett, Roy Proctor, Stephen Skinner.

Henry Smith Trust

Aileen Aitcheson and Hilary Gullen were agreed as trustees along with Roy Proctor (East Horsley Evangelical Church), Renos Pittarides (St Martin's Church) and Stephen Skinner.

Flood Forum

Juliet Robinson was agreed as the council's representative.

Village Hall Trustee

Holly Haling was agreed as Village Hall Trustee

9.To Confirm the Dates, Times and Places of Future Meetings of the Council and its Committees, and the Date of the Next Council Meeting.

The dates of future meetings were agreed as presented in the agenda.

10. Annual Parish Meeting Update

It was agreed that the Annual Parish meeting had been successful, although attendance had been less than hoped. It was noted that this was most likely due to the meeting being held on a Friday of a bank holiday weekend.

11. Next Parish Council Meeting:

Monday, 16 June at 7.30pm in the Village Hall Clubroom.

The meeting ended at 8.20pm

Post meeting note: Chris Hampson asked that thanks be passed to the Chair for kindly agreeing to stand for a further year.