Railway Task Group


Current Projects

LONDON-BOUND LEVEL ACCESS - LOBLA Campaign (click to access information sheet)

Both Horsley and Effingham Junction have poor access to Platform One if your mobility is restricted, eg luggage, pushchairs, disability or elderly.

Graphics showing how new lifts and covered bridges could transform Effingham Junction and Horsley stations are shown here.

Horsley Station schematics

Effingham Junction Station schematics


Application to Your Fund Surrey for a grant to instal new level access toilet facilities and an expanded and refurbished waiting room at Horsley Station.

Click here for more details of the proposed new Horsley Station toilet and waiting room facilities including “before” and “after” drawings.

Mission Statement

To improve the experience of using Horsley and Effingham Junction stations, including their environment, accessibility and facilities. In this way, both stations can become more of an amenity for the communities they serve rather than just points of access to railway services. Also, through enabling  direct community involvement in shaping how rail users can interact with the stations, engendering  a sense of “ownership” and pride amongst not only the adoption teams but also the wider communities that the teams represent

Since its founding in June 2019, the Railway Task Group has come on by leaps and bounds. 

We are forging excellent relationships with South Western Railway and Network Rail and both station “Friends” groups have now formally joined SWR’s Community Rail station adoption scheme.

This gives us a perfect “platform” from which to work with all stakeholders to help improve station facilities, access, landscaping, signage etc 

Our membership currently exceeds 20 with representation from all local communities using the station.

We are arranged into four groups as follows:

  • Friends of Effingham Junction Station  
  • Friends of Horsley Station
  • Accessibility Projects Team 
  • Strategy Group 

Anyone with some time and energy to contribute is welcome to get involved. Just contact Stephen by email on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

EHPC Council Members

Stephen Groom (Chair)

Cllr Andrew Franklin

Other current members include:

Alan Gilbertson
Robin Satow
West Horsley Parish Councillor Mel Beynon
Martha Jessop
Effingham Parish Council Chair Ian Symes
Effingham Residents’ Association Chair Vivien White
Local flora and fauna experts Brian Austin and Harry Eve
Landscape gardening Fiona Stephenson and Mark Lenel